Wednesday, 12 June 2013

Dark Souls - PC Optimisation Guide

Open the game folder ready:

  1. In your Steam Game Library, find the game, right click it and click Properties.
  2. Click the Local files tab.
  3. Click the "Browse local files..." button to open up the game folder.
  4. Open the "DATA" folder.


Use this to improve the graphics greatly, unlock the FPS and skip the intro logos.

Before applying the mod, make sure Anti-Aliasing is turned off in game:
  1. Run the game and get to the Main Menu.
  2. Go to "PC settings".
  3. Highlight "Anti-Aliasing" and press Left/Right to make sure it is set to Off.
  4. Click (or press A) on OK.
  5. Quit the Game.
To apply the mod:
  1. Get the latest version of DSFix from the author's blog. It should be a zip file.
  2. Extract the zip file and copy it's files into the Dark Souls DATA folder.
  3. Open the DSFix.ini file (mentioned above).
  4. Look for UnlockFPS 0 and change it to UnlockFPS 1.
  5. Look for SkipIntro 0 and change it to SkipIntro 1.
  6. If you use a controller and don't want to see the cursor, look for disableCursor 0 and change it to disableCursor 1.
  7. Save and close the file.

Dark Souls Connectivity Mod - Play with friends


  1. Go here and download the latest stable version.
  2. Extract the file to the Dark Souls folder (or wherever you like).


  1. Start Dark Souls.
  2. Start DSCM once the game has loaded.

Add Friends

  1. Make sure both you and your friend have the game and DSCM running.
  2. Find the link to your friend's Steam profile and copy it.
  3. Go to
  4. Paste the link in the box and press Enter.
  5. Select the SteamID64 result and copy it.
  6. In DSCM, click on the Target input box and Paste in the number.
  7. Click Attempt Connection to Player. They should soon appear in the "Active" tab as a connection.
  8. Click once on the row where your friend appears and click the "Add Favorite" button at the bottom. They will now appear in the Favorites tab from now on.

Connect to a Friend

  1. Follow the "Add Friends" setup above.
  2. When you are both ready to play, click the Favorites tab.
  3. Double click on your friend and they will be moved to the Active list.
If your game crashes or you quit via Alt+F4, you may be penalised and not able to connect to a friend for approx. 10 minutes.


Post a Comment